top of page

who we are

SINCE 1912,

the YWCA Charleston has been fostering self-sufficiency and independence. Originally designed as safe lodging for young women from rural communities coming to Charleston to pursue careers, the YWCA has evolved into the city’s most diverse and comprehensive network of social service programs. YWCA programs, facilities and services assist more than 5,000 individuals each year.



YWCA Sojourner's Shelter for Homeless Women and Families serve homeless single women, women with children, men with custody of their children and intact families.


YWCA Resolve Family Abuse Program provides safety and security for battered and homeless women and children along with counseling, advocacy and education.


YWCA Shanklin Center for Senior Enrichment provides permanent housing for disabled, abused senior women.


YWCA Empowerment Homes provide permanent housing for a small community of chronically homeless, disabled women.


YWCA Alicia McCormick Homes provide transitional housing for women and children moving toward independent lives.


YWCA Mel Wolf Child Development Center provides affordable, quality childcare including pre-school and afterschool programs for single mothers and working families so they can pursue educational opportunities or participate in the workforce. The program is available to all income levels.

YWCA Racial Equity & Inclusion Program increases local capacity to mitigate the effects of racism and to understand the root causes of it. The program works with community leaders in Boone, Clay, and Kanawha counties to help participants recognize racial bias.


The YWCA retail shop, YWCA Past & Present Gently Used Clothing Store generates income for our Shanklin Center for Senior Enrichment, by selling donated clothing at affordable prices. Clothing from Past & Present is made available to our residents in need.

By helping so many people reach the goal of a self-sustaining life, the YWCA Charleston contributes greatly to a better quality of life for all citizens in Kanawha, Boone and Clay counties.

2022 Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Jeri Matheney, President

Sarah Brown, Vice President

Sarah Crouse, Treasurer

Leah Glover, Secretary

Jennifer Vieweg, Immediate Past President



Debra James

Tricia Kingery

Kameron Miller

Azita Misaghi

Monrene Ross

Emily Rogers

Kate White

Michelle Wittekind

Gabe Wohl


Morgan Beals

Gina Busch

Sara Busse

Amy King Condaras

Kellie Conklin

Marie Cook

Ann Flynt

Cecilia Ford

Gretchen Frankenberry

Belinda Fuller

Megan Hannah


Board Members:

bottom of page